• The University, after its establishment has grown continuously in a steady manner, not only in its size and number, but also in the nature and types of academic programs, in spite of the fact that the area served by the University is Socioeconomically backward and there has been an acute shortage of resources in the last few decades.

  • The academic baseline of the University, in 1962, comprised only two constituent colleges, thirty affiliated colleges and seventeen University teaching departments. At present, there are forty four (44) constituent colleges, about two hundred and twenty (220) affiliated colleges, out of which seventy seven (77) colleges are having UGC 2(f) & 12(B) status, eight (8) colleges having NAAC accreditation, out of which two (2) are enjoying the CPE Status of UGC. The University has also come forward to start restructured courses at the undergraduate and post graduate level in its constituent and affiliated colleges.

  • The number and nature of the institutions affiliated to the University have also tremendously increased since its establishment. At present the University affiliated institutions are teaching Arts, Science, Commerce, Law, Allied Medicine, Dental studies, Engineering, Education and several others vocational, professional and Para Medical courses.

  • The University departments are offering diversified academic programs and offers UG, PG, Ph.D., Post-Doctoral fellowship and different Certificate, Diploma and PG Diploma Courses.

  • The Directorate of Distance Education is getting popularity at national horizon with at least fifteen diverse courses of under graduate and post graduate level.

Virtual Campus Tour